Crowded Closet


Hey there, pretty. by melissamenard
February 9, 2010, 10:03 pm
Filed under: Inspiration, Look of the day | Tags: ,

For all you ladies with or without dates on Sunday: don’t wear pink. Do wear lace and a sexy bun. Be pretty.

After this bloated weekend of social, fashion and blog events is OVER, I plan to unwind by overloading on Bloody Mary’s with Shannon at my favorite secret spot this Sunday. Then stumble to various West 4th shops and treat ourselves to some leather and diamonds, or should I say, pleather and dildos (and pointing and laughing). Just kidding. Just kidding. I love my neighborhood. Love love love.

shirt: Nordstrom? (it’s so old there are no longer tags)
ring: my mom’s
belt: Urban Outfitters
jeans: American Apparel
song on my mix: Fuck You, Lily Allen

Also: I went fishing in my mom’s jewelry box! Luckily, she’s always pretty willing to give me her costume jewelry and allows me to borrow the good stuff. So this past weekend I took another look at her extensive collection, which ranges all the way back to… um, I won’t give away ALL of her secrets. Let’s just say it hits some of the best decades. Below are some photos of what I snagged and took back to NYC. Some of the items are already inspiring outfits and personalities – they all exude femininity. Stay tuned for how I use some of the items.

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love the shirt! Yay for lacy details.

Comment by caffeinerd

Oooo I like this shirt! So very pretty. Also, love the costume jewelry and can’t wait to see what outfits you pair them with! 🙂

Comment by Laura

love all those accessories…the belt and the jewelry! i wish my mom had kept more of her old stuff so i could rummage through it now… i’m jealous!

Comment by Lisa

that top is so pretty! and i love the way you’ve accessorized…the belt and ring are perfect!

Comment by Jenn

Ring is gorgeous- very delicate and intricate. Shannon – photos are awesome!

Comment by Jack

Yeah, Jacks – she’s great.

Comment by melissamenard

thank god for the no pink announcement. love the jewels!

Comment by Candy Mayo

Wow that blouse is stunning! I love it! And yes I agree… LACE!

Comment by megannielsen

These photos are BEAUTIFUL! The lighting, the composition and of course the style. LOVE LOVE LOVE!

Comment by jadeylangley

The lace blouse is beautiful.
I like the gone fishing in moms jewelry idea… something I did once to my mom.

Comment by Linda

HA! oh mom…… 🙂 I think I went fishing in your mom’s jewelry too. I get it where I can!

Comment by melissamenard




Leave a Reply

