Crowded Closet


“Well, I kind of fell into it.” by Jenna
December 11, 2009, 9:00 am
Filed under: Advice from Jenna Menard | Tags:

I am often asked, “How did you become a makeup artist?” My response, “Well, I kind of fell into it.” Unfortunately about a month ago that saying came true quite literally.

I had a cover shoot with a long time friend and photographer Jason Bell up in the Bronx. Our subject, Emily Blunt! I arrived at the studio a bit early and was waiting for the studio manager to come unlock the space so I could set up and start my day (as per usual). While waiting impatiently, I had to shuffle up and down 2 stairs that led to the door, that lead to the stairwell, that led to the studio. I thought it might be a better idea to wait inside so I lugged my 50 pound makeup kit up the 2 stairs and waited in the stairwell until someone could direct me to the elevator (I was not about to carry it up 3 flights of stairs). About 5 minutes went by and I thought it might be better to go back outside to buzz the studio again just in case someone went in a back entrance and I missed them. Because I can’t leave my makeup kit unattended for more than 2.5 seconds I started to drag my 50 pound bag towards the stairs, but before I knew it I was falling in slow motion towards the concrete sidewalk. I had missed the steps completely and as I was falling I was thinking to myself “I’m going to crack my tailbone, break a wrist, sprain an ankle, and bust my head open.” Then I hit the ground. Luckily there were 5 people on the street that saw the whole thing and without any hesitation grabbed my arms and pulled me up. I was in shock. They were all asking “Miss, are you ok,” “Are you hurt,” “Can we do anything for you” and to be honest I didn’t even know what hit me (or should I say what I hit). I started moving different parts of my body and realized miraculously I was totally fine; not one scratch, bump or bruise to be found! I dusted myself off, gathered myself for a minute and eventually made it up to the studio via elevator.

Of course I couldn’t resist and shared my morning fall story with the entire photo crew and they all laughed it up (yes, even Emily)…I don’t think it would have been that funny if their makeup artist had to go to the hospital for stitches and a cast. Instead, we had seamless day and came out with more than enough images for the story and a cover to boot! I think I was happy to be alive so I was able rock out a stunning makeup look for the wonderful, and very talented, Emily Blunt – see for yourself!

Photographer: Jason Bell

Stylist: Vanessa Moore

Makeup: Jenna Menard

Hair: Lisa-Raquel

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

